Trust Board

Our Board of Directors

Rob Hughes

Rob Hughes - Chairman

Rob is a former Managing Director of Mars Food UK, currently a Director at Brain Tumour Research and was formerly involved in the NHS Strategic Review of Children’s Neuro Surgery. He is Chairman of the charity Anna’s Hope, a children’s brain tumour charity.

Caroline Walker smaller

Caroline Walker - Chief Executive

Caroline became Chief Executive on 1 October 2018, having previously been in a joint role as Director of Finance and Deputy Chief Executive of our Trust. Her career within the NHS dates back to 1982 and has seen her work at University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust, Great Ormond Street Hospital, Barts and the London NHS Trust in finance roles. She has also been Chief Operating Officer at Loughborough University. In August 2015 she was appointed to lead an ongoing health system-wide programme to investigate the possible benefits of local healthcare providers working together to improve services and save money.  She led on the programme to merge Peterborough and Stamford Hospitals with Hinchingbrooke Health Care Trust, which resulted in the formation of North West Anglia NHS Foundation Trust on 1 April 2017.

PRATT David_01 smaller circle.png

David Pratt - Director of Finance

David joined the board in September 2018. He has a wealth of NHS experience and has worked in Director of Finance and Director of Efficiency roles at several hospital trusts, including Doncaster and Bassetlaw Teaching Hospitals, United Lincolnshire Hospital and Ealing Hospital.


Louise Tibbert circular.png

Louise Tibbert - Director of Workforce and Organisational Development

Louise joined our Trust in April 2018, having previously fulfilled the same role at University Hospitals Leicester NHS Trust. Prior to that she served more than 30 years in the private sector and at local authorities in Cambridgeshire and Hertfordshire.

Simon Evans circle.png

Simon Evans - Interim Chief Operating Officer

Simon joined the Trust in early December 2018 on secondment from United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust - where he holds the post of Director of Operations. Simon has also held cost improvement and performance roles at University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust and Sherwood Forest Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

kanchan Rege

Dr Kanchan Rege - Medical Director

Dr Rege oversees the management of the Trust’s consultant body as well as doctors in training. Prior to her appointment, she was a Consultant Haematologist for the Trust. She continues to see patients in her clinic at Peterborough City Hospital in her consultant role for one day per week. Dr Rege underwent her training in Haematology in London and started her consultant career working at Hinchingbrooke and Papworth Hospitals in 2000. 

Jo Bennis - Chief Nurse

Joanne Bennis - Chief Nurse

Jo has 30 years’ experience as a nurse, having started her training in Peterborough. She is responsible for professional practice, clinical quality and organisational change in the interests of patient care. She advises on nursing, midwifery and allied health professional issues and is the professional head of the nursing service. She takes the lead in delivering effective clinical care and has joint responsibility with our Medical Director for the clinical governance agenda.

Jane Pigg, Trust Secretary

Jane Pigg - Company Secretary

Jane’s role involves a wide diversity of work throughout the Trust. She works at a strategic level  with all our external partners, including the local authority and ensures the appropriate running of  the Trust Board of Directors and Board of Governors, and has lead responsibilities for corporate governance. She is a non-voting member of the Trust board.

Board of Executive Directors' Declaration of Interests

Mary Dowglass circular.png

Mary Dowglass

Mary previously fulfilled a Director of Nursing role for the former Peterborough and Stamford Hospitals until 2002 and has since worked as CEO of an international charity providing health services in the developing world before returning to the local area to work as a Development Manager for Macmillan Cancer Support. Mary is also a Non-Executive Director for the Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust.

Sarah Dunnett Non-Executive Director

Sarah Dunnett


As well as a Non-Executive Director, Sarah is the Trust's Deputy Chairman. She is a Chartered Accountant and has worked for more than 25 years in the public sector, both in the UK and overseas. She held the post of Assistant Chief Executive at the London Borough of Southwark, and was more recently a Corporate Director at a South Lincolnshire Local Authority.  She holds the position of Honorary Treasurer at Healthcare Quality Improvement Partnership.


Mike Ellwood circular.png

Mike Ellwood 

None declared.

Ray Harding circular.png

Ray Harding

Ray brings a wide range of financial and commercial experience to the board from his previous roles, which most recently included Director of Estates Administration for University College London (UCL) and then Chief Operating Officer for UCL Qatar. Ray also serves as a Lay Member on the Board of West Leicestershire Clinical Commissioning Group and is a Non-Executive Director of the Futures Housing Group.

Bev Shears circular.png

Beverley Shears

Bev  has a strong background in organisational change and transformation, having fulfilled various roles including Deputy Managing Director and HR Director at Stagecoach South West Trains and Head of Customer Experience at the Olympic Delivery Authority. She is currently a Member of the British Transport Police Authority.

Picture of Gareth Tipton

Gareth Tipton

Full Time employee of British Telecommunications Plc. January 2004 to date. Company Director of EE Ltd (subsidiary company of BT) Company Director of BT Law Ltd (subsidiary company of BT) Shares held in BT Group Plc.

 In addition to the Trust KPMG are Auditors of BT Group Plc.